Monday Matinee: Songs of Praise


This is going to be different. Instead of writing about classic movies or discovering hidden gems on Netflix, I want to present something that, while in the entertainment category, goes well with the Dropping the Veil posts I’m writing. In my All Saints’ Day and Dropping A Veil posts, part 1 and part 2, I write about where I have ended up in my spiritual journey. It would be fair to say that I have come to love and appreciate beauty in worship.

One of my recent discoveries was the BBC series, Songs of Praise. One of the longest-running shows in all of television, Songs of Praise is a weekly show that presents Christian hymns and has been aired continually since October, 1961. I discovered this program last year, when searching for hymns on YouTube.

We at the CSL house do not watch broacast or cable TV, but watch programs and movies on Netflix and Hulu. Since we do have a DVD player that comes with a YouTube app, we occasionally will watch material from YouTube (the Carol Burnett show comes to mind.) Recently, I discovered that a Songs of Praise channel has been created on YouTube and that they have started putting up whole broadcasts.

Regular broadcasts feature choirs singing in different churches and cathedrals in Great Britain, and I find that not only the beauty of the music, but the beauty of the sanctuaries, as well, minister to me. Here is an example of what I’m talking about.

Each year, SoP films a special program of hymns and carols, entitled The Big Sing, in the Royal Albert Hall, one of the grandest theaters I’ve ever seen. I love to watch video clips taken from The Big Sing. The video is amazing, and I can only imagine what it must be like to be there in person, to hear that orchestra accompany 5,000 voices singing hymns to God. I know that Paul wrote that “no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him,” but this clip gives me an inkling of what Heaven might have in store for us.

Isn’t it delicious, and even ironic, that a British choir would perform the heck out of an American hymn? If, like me, you appreciate hymns and beauty, I would recommend that you create a YouTube account and subscribe to the Songs of Praise channel.


Leave a comment

Filed under Theology Stuff

Leave a Reply

