Where Does The Time Go?


Earlier this week, I had to do some searching for one of my earliest posts and realized, as I was checking the date, that I was nearing the one-year anniversary of my first post. I was sort of astounded, although in a mild fashion, that I had been doing this for one whole year!

My first thought was “Has it been that long?” After all, even though I am an old coot, I am just a newbie at this game, and am likely to remain so. 

This was immediately followed with “Is that all? It seems like forever!” I know that this is wrong but it seems like I’ve been doing this for a long time. I guess that is because this blog has become such a big part of my day, now. My Admin Page tells me that this post, this anniversary post, will be my 155th post. 155 posts in 365 days? That means I’m averaging one post every 2.5 days; that can’t be right, can it?

I’ve been reading blogs for several years now, and I know that it is a custom of bloggers to acknowledge and thank those who have encouraged and supported them, so who am I to tinker with tradition? So here goes:

First, Wife. Through this year, she has listened as I’ve read every one of those 155 posts to her. She has not only put up with my ramblings, she’s helped me to hone my messages, tighten my arguments, and given suggestions as to needed clarifications. She’s been my sounding board for this blog, and yes, even the occasional censor, keeping this old coot from going full codger on his readers.🙂

Second, Bonny Burns, of OysterBed7, and Chris Taylor, of Forgiven Wife. Last fall, these two women gave me support, encouragement and technical advice as I first considered blogging, and then began setting up a blog. Bonny’s behind the scenes encouraging made me believe that my point of view, my perspective and advocacy for husbands, was needed. More than anyone else, Bonny made me believe that I would be filling a need and speaking to husbands in a way that other writers aren’t.

Through this past year, Chris has given me support and ideas, and we have bounced blog post ideas off of each other, and I’m sure that some of those 155 posts are her fault.🙂 Of course, our Summer of Colloquy couldn’t have happened without her. I may be wrong, but I’m thinking that what Chris and I did in that Colloquy was something that hasn’t been done before. So Chris has definitely contributed to innovation.

Lastly, I’d like to thank WordPress, which is the platform that I am using to blog. First they have great tools for creating and setting up a blog. And then they go the second mile in having monthly classes/seminars that help you get started and help to keep you blogging. I’m pretty sure that if it weren’t for their beginning bloggers course, Blogging 101, I wouldn’t still be at this. If anyone out there is thinking about starting a blog, be sure to go through Blogging 101.

Well, since today is Sunday, maybe Wife and I will go out to dinner to celebrate. Or, maybe we’ll stay home to celebrate. One of my favorite humorists wrote of celebrations during his poorer days, “Pop a corn! Bake a crumb! Break out a schooner of tap!” One way or another, Wife and I will have our own little way of celebrating. But thank you, readers, for stopping by. Hope you had a good day at church.



Filed under Marriage & Sexuality

4 responses to “Where Does The Time Go?

  1. Congratulations on your first year! I’m glad I’ve gotten to be part of this adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phil

    Congratulations on reaching your 1st blogging birthday!

    Keep up the great work…..your words are a much welcomed source of support and inspiration.

    Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  3. IntimacySeeker

    Ditto on the congratulations. Your pithy insights are much appreciated!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. CSL, Congrats for taking the needs of husbands seriously. I’m glad you have thrived during the past 365 days while filling a much needed male perspective on marriage. If I’ve encouraged you to follow God’s nudging, then He gets the glory. I’m thankful to be in marriage ministry with you. I like your brand of ornery.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

