The Apostle’s Creed, #20

I believe in God, the Father Almighty,
maker of heaven and earth.

And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord;
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried;*
the third day he rose from the dead;
he ascended into heaven,
and sitteth at the right hand of the Father Almighty.
from thence he shall come again to judge the quick and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic** Church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,

   the resurrection of the body,

If in this life only we have hope in Christ, we are of all men most miserable. (1 Cor. 15:19)

When I was going to college, I read materials by people who pass for “Christian scholars” by today’s standards, in which they argue that resurrection was a Christian invention, created by the Church, with no basis in the Old Testament or in Jewish thought.

I wondered how they could even teach that to be true, in the light of several OT passages. After all, it was while he was preaching in the synagog at Antioch that Paul cited Psalm 16:2 to show that Messiah was resurrected:

Therefore he says also in another psalm, “‘You will not let your Holy One see corruption.’ (Acts. 13:35)

If resurrection was foreign to the Jewish mind, why would Paul be citing Psalms to Jews in a synagog to show the validity of Christ’s messiahship?

The clincher for me is a portion that appears in what is considered to be the oldest book in the Bible, the book of Job. Job, in facing down his accusers, confesses his belief in resurrection:

For I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last, he will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been thus destroyed, yet in my flees I shall see God. (Job. 19:25-26)

I’ll soon be turning 66. Many who come to read this blog have many more years left to live than I do. And yet, I have a hope, shared by Christians down through he ages, that when I close my eyes for the last time on this life, I will open my eyes and see God. This hope of resurrection is the source of the joy that is expressed in sacred and gospel music. “We shall behold Him.”


1 Comment

Filed under Christian Beliefs, Theology Stuff

One response to “The Apostle’s Creed, #20

  1. There are scholars who view the term “gathered to his people” and its variations as affirmations of a Jewish belief in life after death. If you have an interest, I wrote about this subject several years ago on A Lawyer’s Prayers You can find the 2-part article called “Resurrection – An Old Testament Viewpoint” at 7/17/12 and 7/25/12. I recently came across another article on Pastor Passing Through! called, “What does ‘gathered unto his people’ mean in Genesis 25:8?” at 8/14/13.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

