The Apostle’s Creed, part 16

I believe in God, the Father Almighty,
maker of heaven and earth.
And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord;
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried;*
the third day he rose from the dead;
he ascended into heaven,
and sitteth at the right hand of the Father Almighty.
from thence he shall come again to judge the quick and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,

Fridays have been my day for writing about what the Apostle’s Creed means to me, how important it is to me. But after I finished the middle section, about Christ, I’ve hit a little bit of a blockage. The problem is that while the first two persons of the Trinity are discussed and the Creed expounds on each, this third section only says, “I believe in the Holy Spirit,” and doesn’t discuss the Person of the Holy Spirit or His work.

Yesterday, however, I was reading a book on how worship forms our faith, and the author illustrated the need for the Creed (you know I love the English language, right?), and how the Creed is bigger than just a Statement of Belief.

The author told of watching the Little House on the Prairie program and viewing an episode in which Pa Ingalls and Mr. French tied a rope from the house to the barn, during a white-out blizzard. The rope was the guideline and safety line to keep them from wandering off in the blizzard. The Creed, like that rope, is our guide to keep us from wandering.

The Creed is something that we enter into when we say, “This I believe.” When we confess the Creed, we aren’t saying we believe in propositions or resolutions; we are saying “I believe in God the Father…,” “I believe in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord,…,” and “I believe in the Holy Spirit.” Doctrines are facts, but the Creed is the confession of our faith, of who we are. And once I place myself in the Creed, my statement, “I believe in the Holy Spirit”, suffices. All else is commentary.

1 Comment

Filed under Christian Beliefs, Theology Stuff

One response to “The Apostle’s Creed, part 16

  1. Thank you. I found this helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

