The Little Tweet That Could

Having been a teaching librarian for 33 years, I am pretty tech savvy for someone on Medicare. However, due to the help and urging of two internet friends and fellow-bloggers (yeah, it’s your fault, Chris and Bonny), I have been learning and expanding my blogging and social networking skills, even to the point of getting a Twitter account. And yesterday, something happened that took me completely by surprise.

In case this hasn’t come across, I am politically conservative. In fact, I think Attila the Hun was a pinko. So it should come as no surprise that, occasionally, I will use my Library Coot twitter account to make a political statement. In addition to several Christian marriage bloggers, I have ‘followed’ one guy on Twitter who is known for political commentary.

Yesterday, bright and surly in the morning, this guy re-tweeted a post by a liberal commenter who said, “America has Hillary Fever!” Of course, being not only red-blooded, but also Red-State-Blooded, I replied to the guy with the comment, “Yeah, I’d say we’re all pretty sick of her”, and promptly forgot about it.

Several hours later, when I checked my Twitter account, I was surprised to find that the tweet was being ‘favorited’ and re-tweeted. Eventually it was favorited twelve times and re-tweeted twelve times. One person did the Shot/Chaser meme, juxtaposing the Vox tweet with mine.

The real surprise was finding out that my little tweet appeared on Twitchy! In case you’ve never heard of it, Twitchy is the only Twitter “news aggregation” website, and posts news articles originating on Twitter. And, since it was started by the conservative Michelle Malkin, Twitchy is very conservative, as well. I checked to see if Twitchy had an article about the Vox tweet, and sure enough, they did. And what do you know? The Library Coot, your friendly curmudgeon, is one of the tweets that they included in their news article.

So, forgive me if I’m a little proud of the Little Tweet That Could. After all, it got Twitchy-ed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture

Leave a Reply

