The Apostle’s Creed, part 12

I believe in God, the Father Almighty, maker of heaven and earth. And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord; who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried;

  the third day he rose from the dead;

As I write this, we are in the middle of Lent, fast approaching the Easter celebration. Before I was a Christian, the biggest day of the year for me was Christmas. Peace On Earth, presents, Santa, Love and Joy, Scrooge and Crachit, Walking in a Winter Wonderland, etc. I loved the Christmas holiday. However, when I became a Christian, the focal point of the my faith, my raison d’être, became Easter. Yes, Christmas is supposed to celebrate Christ’s Incarnation, but it does get lost in the shuffle. The baby in the manger came to Earth to die on the Cross.

All those things I love about Christmas, you won’t find in the Bible, (well, “peace on earth”, yes). But the truth is that mankind is a fallen race; we are rebels, estranged and alienated from God. (Not exactly a holiday message, is it?) But Jesus died on the cross as our sacrificial Lamb, providing atonement for all who will come to Him in faith. And, wonder of wonders, miracle of miracles, He not only died, but He defeated death, rising triumphant from the grave.

Christ’s resurrection says so many things to the heart of a Christian that to attempt to encapsulate the Resurrection message in a single post is impossible. But let me leave you with this. For two millennia, it has been a custom that when Christians meet, they pass this greeting:

“He is risen” “He is risen, indeed.”

That exchange between Christians affirms our sure faith in Christ’s work on Earth, and His triumph over evil, sin and death. And we confess that our hope is in His Resurrection.

For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received: that Christ died for our sins in accordance with the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures, (1 Cor. 15: 3-4)

And so, my brothers and sisters, I say to you,

“He is risen”

. . . .

1 Comment

Filed under Christian Beliefs, Theology Stuff

One response to “The Apostle’s Creed, part 12

  1. sandi

    I feel exactly the same way! While I like to celebrate Christmas and am thankful that Jesus was born, His death for me, a sinner, is what completely overwhelms me. It is, by far, my favorite holiday.


Leave a Reply

