Happy Christmas, #3 – Winter Warlock’s Repentance

happychristmas Merry Christmas, all. I hope you are enjoying today. For my last entry in this mini-series on Christmas songs that make me happy, I’ve saved the best for last: The Repentance of the Winter Warlock, from Santa Clause is Coming to Town. It is my contention that Rankin and Bass’s 1970 TV special is the most Christian and theologically instructive of Christmas movies, what with Christmas Eve being called the “holiest night of the year”, and Winter praying. To top it all off, the song “Put One Foot in Front of the Other” is pretty much a spot-on picture of repentance and turning away from sin. The final verse is sound that it should be preached from the pulpit:

If I want to change the reflection I see in the mirror each morn… You mean that it’s just my election? To vote for a chance to be reformed? 

Makes me happy. Merry Christmas! Read more: Soundtrack Artists – Put One Foot In Front Of The Other Lyrics | MetroLyrics 

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture

Leave a Reply

