Happy Christmas #2 – Bing and Bowie


I hope you enjoyed yesterday’s song. As I said, that song makes me happy. It gives me joy to hear the chimes and hear the Royal Guardsmen shout out the chorus. Today’s song is different. Not a happy tune, but I love the absolute genius that it took to pair the old mellow crooner, Bing Crosby, with the new generation idol David Bowie.

This is the second Bingle song I’ve highlighted this week, and it has an interesting backstory. Bowie agreed to do the Christmas special because his Mum loved Bing, but he hated the song “Little Drummer Boy” and told the writers that he wouldn’t sing that song. Within an hour, the writers created the “Peace On Earth” song for Bowie to sing as counterpoint to Bing’s “Little Drummer Boy.”

Seeing these icons of two different generations produce this haunting version makes me happy: enjoy.


1 Comment

Filed under Culture

One response to “Happy Christmas #2 – Bing and Bowie

  1. sandi

    Thank you for sharing that. It was really lovely. I’m so glad you started this blog. You have a gift for finding little known or forgotten treasures. Bless you and Mrs. CSL this Christmas.


Leave a Reply

