Apostle’s Creed, part 4

“I believe in God, the Father Almighty,

The Creator…”

I believe in Creation. I believe that God created this world. Now, do I believe that the creative act was six literal, 24-hour days? Well, here is what I wrote seven years ago, when I first looked at the Creed:

“God created the world in six days; not six eras, not six eons, six days.”

Of late, I am listening to Reasonable Faith, with William Lane Craig, a philosopher and Christian apologist. He speaks at such universities as Harvard, Yale and Oxford, debating theology, cosmology, etc. I’ve recently discovered these podcasts, and am enjoying listening to them from the beginning. I was struck when he said that, in discussing the Bible with non-believers, he said that he doesn’t really address the six-day discussion, but, instead, goes into the matters of cosmology. It’s an interesting point of view, and one I’m examining. So what do I believe about creation, now? I believe God is the creator, and not evolution. I know that this brands me as an ignorant yahoo, a back-water bumpkin. So be it. And yet, I have a lot of questions for those who deny God’s hand in creation. Believe it or not, just one creature makes acceptance of evolution extremely problematic for me: the Lancet Fluke.  In order to complete one life cycle, the lancet fluke must live and grow in the intestines of three different animals (cow, slug and ant). How could that have possibly developed? Lest you think I’m making this up, check out the life cycle of the Lancet Fluke in this Wikipedia article. Think about it – for the lancet fluke to evolve, there had to arise three distinct classes of animal (gastropod, insect and mammal) for the fluke to complete one life cycle; otherwise, end of the first lancet fluke. And evolutionists accuse us of believing in miracles. For anyone with a truly open mind (with that, I exclude evolutionists), take a trip over to www.creationmoments.com and check out their catalog of past programs. Each one is only about two minutes long and an easy download. If you are capable of wonder, you are in for a treat, as you listen to them. I’m sure you will say with me, “I believe in God the Father Almighty, the Creator.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Beliefs, Theology Stuff

Leave a Reply

