I wasn’t going to post anything this weekend, as I have something scheduled for publishing tomorrow, but I was told about this article in the Virginian-Pilot, this morning, in my Sunday School class. I’ve entitled my page on today’s culture “Going to Hell in a Handbasket”, in keeping with my perspective on our times, and my curmudgeonliness. However, every once in a while, a candle shines in the darkness. Although I am the farthest thing from a Pollyanna, when I read about such candles, I want to acknowledge the light that they give.

Mark Rodriguez was one such candle. Only 17-years-old, Mark was killed in a shooting spree this past May. The article tells how his parents found out that Mark kept a prayer journal, and that it was g-r-e-a-t!. His parents were so moved by what he wrote that they started a blog to publish excerpts from his journal. Please go to the Pilot article and read it, and then go to the blog that they set up.

I promise you, you will be blessed.


Filed under Culture

3 responses to “Candles

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this. This is truly beautiful and just what I needed to read today. God used you blog to be my blessing today.

    I feel terrible for this family’s loss, but their loss is a great blessing for the rest of the world. This young man truly walked with God in life and now sits with Him in heaven. I’m thankful that the family found it in their hearts to share their son’s words to God with the world. In this day and age where we keep seeing images of destruction and hearing about the terrible things our young people are doing on TV, it’s a breath of fresh air to know there are still some who are pure of heart and living their lives right.


    • “… it’s a breath of fresh air to know there are still some who are pure of heart and living their lives right.”
      It would be so easy for me to just sit on my metaphorical porch, and mutter about just how bad things are today. But then, a Mark Rodrigues streaks by, like a meteor, shedding unexpected light. And I, in my pithy way, must comment. Hence “Candles.”


  2. sandi

    Thank you for this post. I sit here so humbled by the faith of one young man and the love and wisdom of his family to publish his thoughts. God really is good, all the time.


Leave a Reply

