Apostle’s Creed, part 1

I know that it is easy to memorize lines for recitation by rote memory. But sometimes, we memorize something because it speaks to our souls and helps us to remain grounded in what and who we are. To me, this is the Apostle’s Creed. On my About Page, I state without apology, “I’m a born-again Christian who truly believes what is written in the Apostles’ Creed.” 

I see the Creed as the defining statement of what makes me, Me. In his song, Creed, Rich Mullins nails it when he writes, “I did not make it. No, it is making me.” This statement defines me, and over a number of posts, I want to explain why it is so important to me.

On a blog long ago and far away (and forgetten, dead in the mists of the Internet), I started to write about the Apostle’s Creed, and so much of what I post (well, in the first few posts, anyway) will be a re-working of my previous series. But I’ve been meditating and reciting the Creed for many years now, and it is still fresh with me, and I hope that my thoughts will be fresh to you. With that, here is the first post, re-worked:

“I Believe”

One of the oldest confessions of the Christian faith begins with these two simple words, “I believe.” So simple, yet these words are a profound confession to the world that I believe that which God has said.

I was not there when God formed the sun, moon, earth and stars, but I believe that He did it.

I was not there when God created man, but I believe that He did it.

I was not there when God called to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in their night visions, setting them apart as patriarchs of a chosen people, but I believe that He did it.

I was not there when God appeared to Moses at Mt. Sinai, giving him the 10 Commandments and making covenant with His people, but I believe that He did it.

I was not there when Jesus bore the sins of the world on the cross of Calvary, but I believe that He did it.

“I believe” are two powerful words that separate Christians from the rest of the world, and put us into another kingdom, the kingdom of God. When we say that we believe, we take our place in the vast train of people who, like Abraham, are “looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God.” (Heb. 11:10)

The Gaithers wrote a wonderful song, “Let the Church be the Church,” which had the constant call, “God has always had a people.” It’s true, He has. And everyone of these people were “Believers.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Beliefs, Theology Stuff

Leave a Reply

